There won’t be any federal assistance coming to areas of New York State that were damaged by flooding earlier this year.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced it is denying the state’s request for major disaster assistance.

Some 15 counties were hit by severe flooding on July 1, including Oneida, Madison, Herkimer, Broome, Cortland and Tioga counties. New York State has provided $2.5 million for flood prevention efforts but a federal disaster declaration was needed for additional funding.

Among the public officials decrying FEMA’s decision are Assemblyman Anthony Brindisi (D), who called the lack of a declaration “incomprehensible” and urges fellow members of the New York congressional delegation to contact FEMA administrators and “demand a second look at this application.”

Similarly, Rep. Claudia Tenney (R) said a declaration from FEMA “would have gone a long way to help families and municipalities recover from this summer’s extreme weather and excessive flooding.”

Assemblyman Brian Miller (R) said residents have “been through enough since the disastrous flooding in July… I would ask FEMA representatives to come to our community and speak directly with those who lost their livelihoods to explain — in person — why the damage here is not severe enough.”